PDA

View Full Version : Racing car Construction

ancillotti rob
19-05-10, 09:20
Good morning
There are a few questions i would like a bit of help with.

1:I am currently studying towards a degree in Horticulture. After i finish i am tempted to do a part time 2 year course in race car engineering or similar. This is not for any career change, it is simply for fun as i wish to build my own car some time in the future. The first thing i did is picked up Tony Pashleys book which was superb and a lot of help. I hope to build a car for class I racing cars over 600-1100. In that category there are a few different materials used. As a relative amateur i have decided to make a space framed car, as this means less of an outlay on tools and materials. At the last prescott round i was looking at a lot of the cars in class i and a fair few had carbon tubs etc. I was looking at the Martlet As1 of the Steel family and it appeared to be a space frame car, i may well be wrong but it certainly looked it. This suprised me as the record time set by that car 38.88 was quicker than very exotic and carbon tubbed cars, which i can only presume is down to good construction and a very very fast driver. Even more shocking was when i compared that time to the class above, Class J2 with a record time of 38.13.

2: I have also been looking at the empire racing cars web site and the construction mentioned on there is a tubular frame rapped in carbon, what is the benefit of this?. Also with cars like the force Pc is this just a stand alone carbon tub without the above method.?

3: I am thinking of buying an ultra cheap single seater mid summer as ive decided against hillclimbing my road car as i plan to sell it fairly soon and dont want to damage it. I hope this will give me experiance of running a car in class i and set up etc. i have seen a car for just under 4000 in scotland and thought this may be a fair place to start.