Uphill Racers

Go Back   Uphill Racers > Technical > Projects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Downloads Mark Forums Read

Projects Forum for the discussion and showing of Uphill Racers members projects

Old 21-12-11, 08:57

Cameron is on a distinguished road
Peugeot 205 Saloon Libre

Hello all..

This is my Sports / Saloon Libre project that I've been working on for the past year, a Peugeot 205 with a double wishbone suspension setup. I'm a total newbie to the world of racing, other than Formula Student while I was at university and a bit of karting, but have always intended on entering hillclimbs. I'm a very keen (possibly bordering on over-ambitious) designer and fabricator, so I have been doing all of this work myself and will continue to do so.. I reckon on it taking a year or so to get this thing running - budget permitting!

So, with introductions out of the way, here's where I am at the moment. I've spent the past year taking rough measurements of my previous track day 205 and using them to design a double wishbone suspension package that will be as "bolt-in" as possible. I've used a suspension simulation program from my uni days, CAD package and a whole host of self-developed Excel calculators to get my basic design sorted and am fast approaching the point where I start to build the car.

I bought the project base a couple of months ago - a 1.6 Auto base model for a cool £250.

It has to be the tidiest 205 shell I've ever seen, having owned about 6 of them over the years; though most of it will be tossed in the scrap bin it's nice to have a base that doesn't require any initial prep work! I need the shell to be up high enough that I can work under it for long periods, and I also need it to be dead level, so knocked up some stands to put the chassis on:

And fabricated some nice little lifting brackets so I could hoist the thing up high enough with my engine crane: